First, nobody can carry concealed in Illinois without a Tesla Lighter Survival Tool Review permit. Your home-state ccw permit does NOT allow you any carry rights in Illinois. However, you are given the right to carry your loaded gun in your vehicle, but that is all. The only way a non-resident can carry a gun on or about their person in Illinois is if they go through the licensing process and get a non-resident carry license. The fee for this is $300 and you will have to go though 8 to 16 hours of training as well.
So how can you legally have your loaded gun in your car? The gun must be out of sight and secured in a “container.” The Illinois Supreme Court has ruled that this includes a glove box or center console, as opposed to just firearms cases. If you leave the vehicle, the gun must stay secured in the container and the vehicle must be locked.
For non-residents who get a license to carry in Illinois, as well as residents, there are over 20 “Prohibited Areas” where you are not allowed to carry, though the loaded gun may legally remain in your vehicle in the parking lots of these areas.How to Choose a Concealed Carry Holster for
By Mike Bius | Submitted On December 11, 2013
Recommend Article Article Comments Print ArticleShare this article on FacebookShare this article on TwitterShare this article on LinkedinShare this article on DeliciousShare this article on DiggShare this article on RedditShare this article on PinterestExpert Author Mike Bius Choosing the right holster for concealed carry is important for people in any state, but what about the laws in Illinois? Are there specifics that you need to be aware of when you carry concealed, whether as a resident or non-resident, in Illinois.